Contact Us

2013 NCAA Tournament — Louisville Named Top Overall Seed

Big East Basketball Tournament - Syracuse v Louisville
Elsa, Getty Images

Big East champ Louisville was named the top-overall seed in the 2013 NCAA tournament’s 68-team field announced on Sunday evening. Kansas, Indiana and Gonzaga joined the Cardinals as No. 1 regional seeds. The Big East led all conferences with eight teams invited, while seven Big 10 teams received bids to the tournament.

Returning champion Kentucky, Southern Miss, Maryland and Virginia were among the most notable teams left out of this year’s field.

The 2013 NCAA tournament gets underway on Tuesday night with first-round games in Dayton, Ohio. Two more first-round contests in Dayton will follow on Wednesday. A full slate of games is scheduled for Thursday and Saturday at tournament sites in Auburn Hills, Mich.; Lexington, Ky.; Salt Lake City, Utah and San Jose, Calif. Friday’s and Sunday’s games are slated for Austin, Tex.; Dayton; Kansas City, Mo. and Philadelphia.

Regional finals are scheduled for Mar. 28-31 in Washington, D.C., Arlington, Tex, Indianapolis and Los Angeles. The Final Four is slated for the Georgia Dome in Atlanta on Saturday, Apr. 6, with the national championship game set for Monday, Apr. 8.

Here are the  full seeds for each region.


1. Louisville
2. Duke
3. Michigan State
4. Saint Louis
5. Oklahoma State
6. Memphis
7. Creighton
8. Colorado State
9. Missouri
10. Cincinnati
11. (Play-in) Middle Tennessee
11. (Play-in) St. Mary’s College
12. Oregon
13. New Mexico State
14. Valparaiso
15. Albany
16. (Play-in) North Carolina A&T
16. (Play-in) Liberty


1. Kansas
2. Georgetown
3. Florida
4. Michigan
5. VCU
7. San Diego State
8. North Carolina
9. Villanova
10. Oklahoma
11. Minnesota
12. Akron
13. South Dakota State
14. Northwestern State
15. Florida Gulf Coast
16. Western Kentucky


1. Indiana
2. Miami
3. Marquette
4. Syracuse
6. Butler
7. Illinois
8. North Carolina State
9. Temple
10. Colorado
11. Bucknell
12. California
13. Montana
14. Davidson
15. Pacific
16. (Play-in) LIU—Brooklyn
16. (Play-in) James Madison


1. Gonzaga
2. Ohio State
3. New Mexico
4. Kansas State
5. Wisconsin
6. Arizona
7. Notre Dame
8. Pittsburgh
9. Wichita State
10. Iowa State
11. Belmont
12. Ole Miss
13. (Play-in) La Salle
13. (Play-in) Boise State
14. Harvard
15. Iona
16. Southern

Next: See How The Conference Tournaments Were Won

Best of Kicker 102.5

Recommended for You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Kicker VIP Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Kicker VIP Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.