It looks like the BCS is dead, because beginning in 2014 there will finally be a college football playoff system.

Yes, it is true that there will only be four teams, and they will be selected by a committee, but it’s better than nothing.

Here’s how it will play out… the number 1 team will play the number 4 team, and the number 2 team will play number 3.  It hasn’t been decided for certain yet, but these games will either be played on New Years Eve, or New Years Day.  The locations will be rotated between four of the current BCS Bowls… the Rose Bowl, Orange Bowl, Fiesta Bowl, Sugar Bowl, and two others to be named later.

The winners will then face-off on “Championship Monday”, and the very first one is scheduled for Monday January 12, 2015.