The University of Arkansas Hope-Texarkana held the 11th Annual Spring Foundation Scholarship Ceremony on Wednesday, March 7, 2018. This spring the Foundation awarded privately funded scholarships to students totaling $36,020. “We appreciate the generous support of all the Foundation donors. This kind-hearted support makes it possible for many students to overcome the barriers they face in achieving their educational goals,” said Jill Bobo, Executive Director.

Pictured above left to right: Jim and Lindy Franks present a certificate for the Jim and Lindy Franks Endowed Scholarship to Chassity Glenn alongside UAHT Chancellor Chris Thomason.

Scholarships awarded this spring are as follows:

Endowed Scholarships

Alna R. Watkins Endowed Scholarship
Given by John E. Watkins and Sally Horm, to honor those individuals in the Nursing profession who provided care for their mother, who worked hard to provide funds for her children to further their educations. Preference is given to an employee of Hillcrest Care and Rehabilitation Center in Prescott, Arkansas, pursuing a higher degree in the Nursing profession.
Recipient: Lesley A. Stuhr

Denny and Kathryn Dickinson Endowed Scholarship
Given by the late Mr. Denny Dickinson and his wife Mrs. Kathryn Dickinson to a student who plans to pursue studies in the field of Education.
Recipient: Brittany D. Brown

Dorothy and Leon “Buck” Davis Endowed Scholarship
Given by Judy Beth Davis in memory of her parents, to students pursuing a degree in nursing, with preference given to a non-traditional student.
Recipients: Hannah Barragan and Brooke Powell

Jim and Lindy Franks Endowed Scholarship
Given by Mr. and Mrs. Franks to a student planning to pursue a degree in education, with preference given to a resident of Nevada County.
Recipient: Chassity S. Glenn¬

J.W. & Janis Brian Rowe Endowed Scholarship
Given by Mr. J.W. Rowe and his family, in memory of his late wife Janis, to benefit a student enrolled in a program of study in the medical field. Mr. Rowe served as Director, from 1965 to 1987, of Red River Vocational Technical School, which became Red River Technical College and then UACCH.
Recipient: Taquila Williamson

Mary Nell & McDowell Turner Annual Scholarship
Created in memory of Mary Nell and McDowell Turner, the endowment will provide scholarships to students pursuing a certificate or degree from UAHT. The scholarship was originally created as an annual scholarship by Mary Nell Turner following the death of her husband. When Mary Nell Turner passed away, her family decided to endow the scholarship to ensure that Mac and Mary Nell’s commitment to lifelong learning and to providing access to higher education would continue in perpetuity.
Recipient: Jakayla Carrigan

Michael & Deborah Malek Endowment
Given by Michael and Deborah Malek to a student pursuing a degree or certificate from UAHT, with a preference given to a non-traditional student from Hempstead County who enrolls in a technical and industrial program.
Recipient: Brian K. Matchett

Ned Ray Purtle Family Endowed Practical Nursing Scholarship
Given by Ned Ray and Carolyn Purtle to students from Nevada or Hempstead Counties in the LPN program.
Recipients: Kasey Ball, Tamera Farmer, and Summer Wylie

Pafford EMS Endowed Scholarship
Given by the Pafford family for the benefit of students enrolled in the EMS Program, who have the compassion and desire to maintain a profession in the field of Emergency Medical Services.
Recipients: Kelly Owens and Kortnee Whitaker

Pat Tidwell Memorial Award
Given by Dr. Lawrence and Carol Bigongiari and Medical Park Hospital in memory of Pat Tidwell, R.N., who served as director of nurses during her tenure with Medical Park Hospital, to an LPN student who is deemed to be the most compassionate Nursing student by his or her peers.
Recipient: Hannah Jones

Ronald Sweat Family Endowed Scholarship
Given by Kimberly Sweat, to honor her husband as he retired from teaching, to a student in the General Education program planning to pursue a teaching degree in math or science, with preference given to a Blevins High School graduate.
Recipient: Justin Smith

Rook, Ferrand and Clingan Paramedic Endowed Scholarship
Given to a student in the Paramedic Progam by the City of Hope in memory of paramedics John “Jay” Rook, Scott Ferrand and Christopher Clingan, who lost their lives while on duty.
Recipient: Constance Smith

Valerie & Paul W. Klipsch Endowed Scholarship
Given by the late Mrs. Valerie Klipsch, in memory of her husband Paul, scientist and inventor of the famous Klipsch speakers, to a full-time student in the Associate Degree program planning to pursue a higher degree in a technical field such as math, computer science or engineering.
Recipient: Britney R. Kerner

Virginia Clinton Kelley Endowed Scholarship
Given in memory of Mrs. Virginia Clinton Kelley by her son, the Honorable William Jefferson Clinton, 42nd President of the United States, to students in the LPN program.
Recipients: Allie Anderson, Lynn Bolt, Kaitlyn Cannon Pelt, and Zachary L. Stone
Annual Scholarships

Bridge Builders Scholarship
Given by UAHT faculty and staff, who donate a portion of each of their paychecks to fund this scholarship.
Recipient: Jose Salvador Torres and Olivia V. Torres

Chandler Michelle Daffern Memorial Annual Scholarship
Created in memory of Christopher and Jessica Daffern’s daughter who was born and passed away on August 26, 2017. Chandler was born with a severe case of Congenital Diaphragmatic Hernia. Jessica, a student at UAHT, founded this scholarship to help students who want to pursue a degree in the medical field to honor the medical professionals who cared so well for Chandler.
Recipient: Rashondra Harris
Kathleen Schooley McLarty Annual Scholarship
Given by Phillip McLarty in honor of his wife many years of service to our community, to a non-traditional student with a grade point average of at least 2.75.
Recipient: Latashia Hale

Kiwanis Club of Hope Don McAdams Memorial Scholarship
Given by the Kiwanis Club of Hope, in memory of fellow Kiwanian and UACCH employee Don McAdams, to an LPN student who has been accepted into the ARNEC Nursing Program.
Recipient: Sebrena Craddock

Randall Sanders Memorial Annual Scholarship
Given by family and friends of Randy Sanders, a beloved UAHT dean and instructor for many years, to honor his legacy on our campuses, to a student pursuing a technical and industrial degree.
Recipient: Brandon Cordell

Sammie Cox Memorial Scholarship
Given by friends and family of Sammie Cox, to honor his memory, to a student graduating from Redwater High School in Redwater, Texas.
Recipient: Kalyn R. Lumpkins

Shawna Williamson Bevins Annual Scholarship
Given by friends and family in memory of Shawna, a graduate of the UACCH Nursing Program, to a currently enrolled Nursing student pursuing an R.N. license through the ARNEC program on the UAHT campus. The recipient, chosen by currently enrolled Nursing students, should possess the characteristics of compassion, eagerness, humility and hard work.
Recipient: Kiley N. Applewhite

More From Kicker 102.5