All Arkansas Drivers Must Now be Covered by Insurance
If you are a resident of the state of Arkansas then hopefully you are aware of a new state law that is now in effect for Arkansas motorists.
According to the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, the new law will require that all drivers in Arkansas must have their vehicle covered by insurance.
If you do not have insurance you will receive a letter in the mail beginning in February stating you have 30 days to get insurance or the registration on your vehicle will be suspended. The driver will then be subject to a mandatory court fine of no less than $100 or no more than $250. It will then cost you $100 to have your vehicle registration reinstated.
The new law also lets law enforcement officials check the status of your insurance in real-time to see if the insurance has been bought or has lapsed. The purpose for the new law is designed to hopefully lower insurance rates overtime for drivers in Arkansas, according to a report from KARK-TV in Little Rock.
Currently. nearly 400,000 of almost 2.9 million vehicles in the state are not insured, that according to the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration.
For more information about this new law, please visit their website.