Can You Legally Drive 15 MPH Under the Speed Limit in Arkansas?
It's one thing if you are exceeding the speed limit which most people do but what happens if you are driving 15 MPH below the speed limit in Arkansas?
Can driving too slow get me a ticket?
You've seen it before you are driving down the highway at a regular speed trying to keep up with the flow of the traffic unless, of course, you're speeding, and then before you know it you almost rear-end the car in front of you because they are going way too slow. Well, guess what? Driving 15 MPH under the speed limit could land you a ticket as well according to Arkansas speeding laws.
Driving under 15 MPH over the speed limit is considered a violation, and you could be given a ticket and would have to pay up to a $100 fine. It could also land you in jail up to 10 days in jail for a first offense, and it goes up from there depending on if this has happened more than once. The maximum would be 6 months in jail, up to a $500 fine if this is your third or subsequent offense within 1 year.
Now if you are lucky depending on your situation and this is your first time, the police officer may let you off with a warning but don't expect that to happen in most cases. So, I'm not here to judge you on your driving habits because we've all been guilty of going too slow or speeding including myself. I am writing this article in hopes that we can all learn a little something and be more aware when we are out there on the road.
What about driving 15 MPH over the speed limit?
Arkansas laws state that technically if you driving 41 MPH in a 40 MPH zone you are breaking the law. In most cases, law enforcement may let you get away with a little over the limit but 15 MPH over the speed limit is illegal and 20 MPH over the speed limit is considered reckless driving. The state of Arkansas has something called, an “absolute” speed limit law, there is normally a 10 percent rule applied here plus 2 MPH above the .limit before a speed camera flashes.
So, don't be a tortoise or hare because either one could lead you to a ticket or some jail time in Arkansas.
Happy safe travels!