Voters headed to the polls yesterday in the Texas Spring 2014 Political Primaries.In Bowie County, former County Judge James Carlow will be heading back into office after he defeated Jeff Akin by a total of 58% to 42%. Carlow has not Democratic opposition, but he will have to wait until January 1st to officially take office.

Elsewhere in the county, Tom Whitten won re-election as County Commissioner Precinct 2, while challenger Mike Carter defeated incumbent Pat McCoy in the Commissioner Precinct 4 race.

Gibson "Hoot" Hadaway won re-election as Justice of the Peace.

In other races, challenger Gary Van Deaver defeated incumbent George Lavender in the State Representative race. The fight for the U.S. House seat will head to a runoff between incumbent Ralph Hall and his challenger John Ratcliff.

Across the state, Greg Abbott and Wendy Davis were the easy winners in the primary contests for Governor. Republicans will choose between State Senator Dan Patrick and incumbent David Dewhurst in the runoff for Lt. Governor.

The runoff election will be held on Tuesday May 27th.