The Arkansas Symphony Orchestra presents the first concert of the 2020-2021 Stella Boyle Smith Masterworks Series. “A Lyric Return” will be live-streamed from the Robinson Center in Little Rock on January 30, at 7:30 p.m. and January 31, at 3:00 p.m.

Due to health and safety precautions, the program will be presented virtually, available for a minimum donation of $10. Concert information and the stream are available at The Stella Boyle Smith Trust is the Masterworks Series sponsor.

The ASO will perform music from American composers Jessie Montgomery and George Walker as well as Claude Debussy and Ralph Vaughan Williams. ASO’s own Principal Harp, Alisa Coffey, will be the featured soloist for Debussy’s Danses Sacrée et Profane. Interim Artistic Director, Geoffrey Robson, created this program to “reintroduce patrons to the sounds of orchestra strings.”

The 2020-2021 Stella Boyle Smith Masterworks series was originally scheduled to start in September of 2020, but the season was postponed due to the pandemic. The January and February programs are slated for virtual presentations, and the March, April, and May programs will be evaluated closer to the events.

Jessie Montgomery - Strum

Claude Debussy - Danses Sacrée et Profane

George Walker - Lyric for Strings

Ralph Vaughan Williams - Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis

Alisa Coffey, harp

Geoffrey Robson, conductor

LOOK: TV Locations in Every State


More From Kicker 102.5