Is there a restaurant in Texarkana, Arkansas that you think deserves to be in the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame? The Department of Arkansas Heritage is accepting nominations through October 31, 2018.

This is the third year for the statewide program to recognize the legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events from every part of the state.

“Food is an integral part of who we are as Arkansans. The Arkansas Food Hall of Fame honors Arkansas food culture as a significant and specific aspect of our state’s heritage,” said Director Stacy Hurst in a press release. “We want to hear about your local favorites when it comes to food – food events, people and places.”

Nominations are being accepted at in five categories:

Arkansas Food Hall of Fame – This award recognizes those long-standing restaurants that have become legendary attractions in Arkansas.

Proprietor of the Year – This award honors a chef, cook and/or restaurant owner in Arkansas who has made significant achievements in the food industry.

Food-Themed Event – This award honors a community food-themed event or festival that makes our state a great place to live and visit.

People’s Choice – Identifies the public’s favorite. This award is truly in the hands of Arkansans. The restaurant or food truck that receives the highest number of votes wins.

Gone But Not Forgotten – Remembers the collective culinary legacy of a once-and-always influential Arkansas restaurant that has since ceased operations.

Winners will be chosen this winter by a committee of Arkansans who are historians, chefs, foodies and food authors. Committee members include, Paul S. Austin, Evette Brady, Chip Culpepper, Cindy Grisham, Stacy Hurst, Montine McNulty, Tim Morton, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Wendy Richter, Christina Shutt and Swannee Bennett.

Honorees and finalists will be announced at a special ceremony on February 25, 2019, at the Ron Robinson Theater.

About the Department of Arkansas Heritage

The mission of the Department of Arkansas Heritage is to identify Arkansas’s heritage and enhance the quality of life for residents and visitors by the discovery, preservation and presentation of the state’s natural, cultural and historic resources. This is accomplished through the work of eight divisions: Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, Arkansas State Archives, Delta Cultural Center, Historic Arkansas Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and Old State House Museum.

More From Kicker 102.5