The Texas A&M University-Texarkana Alumni Association will host the 2017 Eagle Roundup: A Community Celebration of Distinguished Alumni and Faculty this evening at 6:30PM on the Eagle Lawn at 7101 University Ave. 

Mark Bledsoe (MSIS ‘89) of the United Way of Greater Texarkana and Nicole Raley (BAAS ‘04) of Farmers Bank & Trust are serving as co-chairs for the event.

Distinguished alumni honorees include Francine Francis of CHRISTUS St. Michael Health System, LaTonya McElroy of Mayo Manufacturing, Inc., Rachael Schwartz-Potter of Farmers Bank & Trust and Ken Reese of Humco. Laura Spencer of Texarkana, Texas, will be honored with the A&M-Texarkana Pioneer Award and Buddy Allen of Texarkana, Arkansas, will receive the Spirit of A&M-Texarkana Award. Distinguished faculty award recipient is Dr. Nurul Alam, professor of biology.

The University has a rich tradition of honoring distinguished alumni and faculty for their accomplishments in their careers and in the community. Presentation of the Distinguished Alumni Awards began in 1982. The Distinguished Faculty Award was introduced in 1999.

The Eagle Roundup will include an old-fashioned barbecue with all of the trimmings. There will be a silent auction, music by Split Decision, featuring A&M-Texarkana alumnus and faculty member Selena Jefferies, dancing and more.

Proceeds benefit student scholarships at A&M-Texarkana.

More From Kicker 102.5