Jim & Lisa are always saying, DID YOU KNOW! This time, DID YOU KNOW that if you are driving in daytime and it's raining and you're running your windshield wipers you are supposed to have your headlights on too? In the state of Arkansas, that is.

It's true, not only that, but DID YOU KNOW that the laws for driving with your headlights on are slightly different in Texas? Check it out below.

You see it all the time, people driving around in the rain, wipers going but their headlights are off. If you're that in Arkansas, you're breaking the law. According to the website your mechanic, the state of Arkansas rules for headlight use is as follows.
Headlights:

  • Headlights must be in use from 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise.
  • Headlights must also be in use when you cannot see more than 500 feet ahead of you.
  • Headlights are required when windshield wipers are turned on.
  • High Beams
  • High beams must be dimmed when approaching traffic is within 500 feet.
  • High beams must also be dimmed when following within 200 feet of another vehicle.
  • High beams should not be used in fog, rain, or snow.

Texas laws are a little different:

  • Headlights must be in use from 30 minutes after sunset until 30 minutes before sunrise.
  • Headlights must also be in use when you cannot see at least 1000 feet ahead of you.
  • High Beams
  • High beams may not be used when driving on lighted roads.
  • High beams are also not allowed when driving in fog, heavy rain, snow, sleet, or dust.
  • High beams must be dimmed when approaching traffic is within 500 feet.
  • High beams must also be dimmed when following within 300 feet of another vehicle.

Know, before you go.