A four-student team from Texas High School has been named one of nine Division II UIL State Qualifiers in Theatrical Design. 

For the second year in a row, the team will advance to the state contest which will be held April 23-26 at the Raymond E. Hartfield Performing Arts Center in Round Rock, Texas.

Members of the state qualifying team are:  Paisley Allen, Blaire Berry, Drew Martindale and Olivia Parks.

Each member school in Texas is allowed to enter one group entry portfolio based upon the theatrical design directorial prompt given by the UIL.  The portfolio must have a unified design concept focusing on set design, costume design, hair/makeup design and marketing design.

This year’s show selection was a special repertory exercise to connect two plays together to say something to those who witness them.  Selected shows were A Raisin in the Sun by Lorraine Hansberry and Clybourne Park by Bruce Norris.

Trent Hanna, Technical Director for TISD, serves as teacher/coach to the team.


More From Kicker 102.5